Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions
User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Feb 11, 2010 12:36 pm

We'd like to announce the beta version of Phoscyon 1.8.0 is downloadable for Phoscyon's licensees from
User Area (add-ons section). If you notice any bugs, issues etc. please notify us by writing at support@d16.pl
or in this thread.

VERY IMPORTANT! Please read informations below to avoid any incompatibilities:

NEW FEATURES:

- First official AudioUnit version.
- Full compatibility with Snow Leopard (Mac OSX 10.6.x).
- Start/Stop functionality in internal sequencer.
- Shuffle (swing) parameters. First one is global shuffle used when arpeggiator is used and the second shuffle is stored in pattern memory.
- Midi learn functionality compliant with other d16 plugins.
- Preset management functionality compliant with other d16 plugins.
- Options menu compliant with other d16 plugins.

CHANGES:

- Playing Modes changes:
  • - Removal of some old modes (external mode with gates, accents and slides triggered by single notes, patt buffer mode).
    - New native mode (with pattern chains) is present.
    - Improvements in Host Mode.
    - Improvements in External Mode.
- Internal Sequencer:
  • - Note Off Clear and Self Reset attributes are no longer stored per single pattern (now they are stored globally per project)
    - Shuffle and Tempo have been added to pattern memory.
    - Improvements in pattern management.
    - Improvements in Tempo edition.
    - Improvements in pattern Length Mode.
    - Improvements in interpretation of steps with no Gate.
    - Improvements in Randomizer.
    - Patterns filenaming has changed. Patterns are now stored in xml files.
- Synthesis:
  • - Improvement in square waveform.
    - Improvement in envelope generator.
    - Improvement accent to resonance dependence.
    - Tuning parameter range.
- Other:
  • - Improvements in Arpeggiator.
    - Presets have been expanded with arpeggiator parameters.
    - Presets filenaming has changed. Presets are now stored in xml files.
    - Update of factory presets & patterns.
BUG FIXES:

- All known bugs have been fixed.

KNOWN ISSUES:

This major update covers changes in such many areas that some incompatibilites
can occur. We've put all efforts to make this version as compatible as
possible with the older ones. But still some problem can happen so please read
it carefully:

- With all changes made in synthesis Phosycon plays better now but of course
it plays sligthly different. So please take it into account especially if
its sound was highly modified in your projects through effects etc.

- Due to changes in playing modes some old modes are unavailable now
(listed above), so they can't be restored at all.

- Total recall of old projects should work properly with one exception.
Selection of active preset can't be restored properly so you will have to
choose this preset manually. However all presets are restored properly so
they should sound the same as earlier (taking into consideration changes
in synthesis).
Restoring of patterns stored within project should work properly.
However some hosts may notify you that plugin has been changed or even
don't allow you to recall the old project with the new Phosycon.

- All external resources from older Phoscyons like patterns (.ph files)
or presets (.fxp/.fxb files) are imported properly. Patterns are
imported via Phoscyon functions and presets should be imported with
host fxp/fxb import functionality.


First of all please remember that if you have some crucial projects
you're working on finishing them with old verions will much safer.
You can also backup all stuff and check if you can work with new
version without any problems. Older versions are always available
to download in User Area.

LiquidProj3ct
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:01 pm

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta

Post by LiquidProj3ct » Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:26 pm

Thanks for the public beta :) I was taking a quick look to manual and I discovered a mistake on figure 2.2 text: "Slite time knob", should be "Slide time knob"

Best regards

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Feb 11, 2010 1:28 pm

Btw. Manual is still "work in progress" needs to be checked and tidied up by native English speaker, so do not worry about that too much ;)

and Phoscyon beta isn't fully CPU optimized.

Best regards,
Sebastian

LiquidProj3ct
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:01 pm

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta

Post by LiquidProj3ct » Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:03 pm

Ok :)

In this beta I've the same problem I wrote here (and with the oscillator tuning menu)

http://www.d16.pl/forum/viewtopic.php?f ... 36&start=0

And, is there anyway to snap the tune knob to fixed values as +0 +12 +7...?


edit: same with preset menu, I cannot navigate into it because its closed :|

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Feb 11, 2010 3:48 pm

Hi,
LiquidProj3ct wrote:Ok :)
In this beta I've the same problem I wrote here (and with the oscillator tuning menu)
http://www.d16.pl/forum/viewtopic.php?f ... 36&start=0
Ok. I got it. We weren't able to reproduce it, but seems it happens on the latest version of Orion.
But since we now can reproduce it, we're going to fix it asap.
LiquidProj3ct wrote: And, is there anyway to snap the tune knob to fixed values as +0 +12 +7...?
Could you give me an example of plug-in available on market that has a control(s) similar in behavior you described above?
We'd like to have a good example how it should be done.

Best regards,
Sebastian

LiquidProj3ct
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:01 pm

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta

Post by LiquidProj3ct » Thu Feb 11, 2010 4:27 pm

Could you give me an example of plug-in available on market that has a control(s) similar in behavior you described above?
We'd like to have a good example how it should be done.
I don't remember now but I can give you a good example. You can try FL Studio's pan on step sequencer, when it's close to center it snap to center but you can use a hotkey to ignore this behaviour (shift+click). Maybe you could do the same here, keep the normal behaviour but when you have shift key down while tweak tune knob it will snap to rounded values (-24, -23, -22......-1, 0, +1, +2, ....,+23, +24)

Best regards

LiquidProj3ct
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:01 pm

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by LiquidProj3ct » Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:05 pm

Uhmmm square wave sound louder than saw wave?

User avatar
Jacek@d16
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Katowice/Poland
Contact:

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by Jacek@d16 » Thu Feb 11, 2010 7:53 pm

I'll compare the volume with TB.
Don't worry - It's only a beta ;)
Plugins sound master

a2n3d7y
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by a2n3d7y » Mon Feb 15, 2010 1:34 am

Seems like some of the controls are "zippering". The resonance and preamp knobs in particular.

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Mon Feb 15, 2010 10:29 am

What do you mean exactly by "zippering"? something with graphics or sound :) ?

emdebee
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Dec 11, 2009 7:36 am

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by emdebee » Mon Feb 15, 2010 11:50 am

Zippering - as in audio artefacts!

NOT - something you do with your trousers! :lol:

a2n3d7y
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Jan 30, 2008 7:23 am
Contact:

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by a2n3d7y » Mon Feb 15, 2010 9:48 pm

Never fear, the zipper artifacts are gone. :P (in the official non-beta)

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Tue Feb 16, 2010 11:15 am

a2n3d7y wrote:Never fear, the zipper artifacts are gone. :P (in the official non-beta)
We've fixed it just before the release :)

shaia
Posts: 3
Joined: Thu May 24, 2007 8:43 am

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by shaia » Tue Feb 16, 2010 1:34 pm

Hi I'm on DP 6.03 and logic 8. main problem, the GUI is blank . i tried the tip "lower color value" but it dosen't work...

Ukadan
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:05 pm

Re: Phoscyon 1.8.0 beta (AU and VST)

Post by Ukadan » Tue Feb 16, 2010 5:18 pm

Hi from France ( excuse me for my bad english ! )
This version is not visible in my Cubase SX2
The oldest version work perfectly with Cubase SX2
I try to update 1.6 to 1.8 and the plugin not show in my window "VST Instrument", after remove 1.8 version and reinstall 1.6 version, it works .
The 1.8 version is listed under "devices" / "plugin - information" .Itry this but it doesn't work :
http://www.d16.pl/index.php?ReadFAQ=1

Post Reply