GUI "request" regarding D16 Drummachines

If you need to write about anything else please do it here...
Post Reply
kobalt
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:49 pm

GUI "request" regarding D16 Drummachines

Post by kobalt » Mon Oct 12, 2009 2:56 pm

Hi there,

First of all congrats to the D16s for their great "classic boxes" plugs (nithonat and shioitor are on my whishlist) :p

There is something that really annoys me though, and I'm curious to hear what other users and D16s think about it : the sequencer UI of your virtual drummachines. I understand the idea was to emulate the hardware original's seq with the instrument selection pot (though I know there is another way to select instruments), the steps button that control only one instrument at a time, part selection button etc... my question is : what the point to emulate these hardware "limitations"?

what was (and still is) a great UI in the original hardware boxes (though dictated by hardware "cost" limitation) became a bloody pain in the ass to use and "visualise" in virtual emulations IMHO. why not take advantage of what is possible with virtual instrument GUI. Come on... instrument selector to access its step button edition? :shock:

wouldn't it be more userfriendly, simple and intuitive to have some kind of a grid seq where you can visualise and edit ALL the instruments steps on one simple display. If I remember well the original 707 (or was it the 505?) had some kind a little grid seq display. Upcoming Audiodamage drumsynth has exactly that kind of "in-built" grid-seq-display I would love to see in your drummachines :
http://www.analogindustries.com/images/ ... enshot.png

Again this request has nothing to do with your drummachines sequencer "features" (which are absolutely great), only their sequencer UI. :D

keep up the good work!
cheers

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Mon Oct 19, 2009 3:28 pm

Aren't you breaking your NDA by showing a screenshot of Tattoo?

kobalt
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Dec 10, 2008 9:49 pm

Post by kobalt » Sat Oct 24, 2009 2:11 pm

:lol: ;-) as you may have noticed, I just linked to a picture displayed by one of AD guys on his own blog...
Come on! users of nithonat, drumazon or nepheton and D16's crew, don't you think these 3 great instruments could be even better just by adding a grid sequencer display (to take full advantage of the in-build seq)? Just trying to share some thoughts here... :p
Cheers

daftlover
Posts: 18
Joined: Sat Jul 21, 2007 11:04 pm

Post by daftlover » Sat Oct 24, 2009 11:45 pm

i agree,grids are good for me because it is hard to know when a pattern is getting too busy and where.

Post Reply