RC 1 Thread

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions
Post Reply
Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

RC 1 Thread

Post by Teksonik » Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:15 pm

Hi,

I'll use this thread to post any reports I have with RC 1. I'm glad to say that set default bank works now but I'm still not having any success with Midi Learn. I've followed the instruction in the manual but in FL Studio, Orion, and Reaper the midi controller knob movement is not recognized. In Sonar 7PE I did get one knob to respond but selecting E-Size caused L-Attenuation to respond. I'll keep working with RC 1 to see if I find out anything else. :)

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Mon Aug 03, 2009 3:30 pm

Ok let me give a step by step. Maybe I'm doing something wrong.........

Click Options

Select Midi Learn Mode

Use mouse pointer to turn knob
(display reads for example E.Size is chosen)

Display reads Move a controller now

Turn Knob on Midi controller (Axiom or Trigger Finger)

No response, display continues to read move controller now

After a few seconds Cancelled is displayed and then Waiting.........

Controllers are connected properly, Midi indicator in Hosts shows incoming Midi Data.

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Tue Aug 04, 2009 1:37 pm

Hi,

Thanks. Probably tomorrow it'll be fixed. It was our oversight.

Best regards,
Sebastian

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Tue Aug 04, 2009 2:39 pm

Cool! :D

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Wed Aug 05, 2009 12:22 pm

Hi,

New Release Candidate is now downloadable :)

Best regards,
Sebastian

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:21 pm

Downloaded. I'll test it now. :D

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Wed Aug 05, 2009 3:34 pm

Quick tests in Sonar, Reaper, Orion, FL Studio and Midi Learn is still not working here. Same results as above. :(

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Aug 06, 2009 10:34 am

Hi,

I'll check this under other hosts You specified, but under FLStudio it works. FLStudio filters MidiCC messages and You cannot use hardware controller directly. I prepared a short tutorial how to connect hardware controller, which sends midi CC values to a plug-in in FlStudio (Plug-in, that responds to midi CC messages):

http://www.d16.pl/faq=17

I also checked NI FM8 and this plug-in also don't respond to midi CCs sending directly, there have to be built a way around to connect hardware controller to a plug-in.

Best regards,
Sebastian

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:11 am

Hi,

In Reaper when Toraverb is first in a chain it receives midi messages, and then Midi Learn works (but of course it's useless in such configuration). But when I set some VSTi instrument as the first in a chain and after it I put Toraverb it doesn't receive any messages, because VSTi outputs audio signal not midi, Reaper seems to not be sending messages to all plug-ins in chain, but only to first one. How am I supposed to redirect midi input to a effect in Reaper, which is not a first effect in a chain? I'm not familiar with this host.

Best regards,
Sebastian

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Aug 06, 2009 11:25 am

Hi

I don't see the way how to connect VST effect to a midi track in Orion, do You know how to do this? it's the only way to make Midi Learn work. In VST instrument that's not a problem, because I can choose the way of automation (VST Parameters, Midi CC), but for the effect there's no way (at least I don't see that), how to connect physical midi port to a VST effect.

Best regards,
Sebastian

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Thu Aug 06, 2009 1:06 pm

Hi Sebastian,

I'm off to work this morning. I'll do some more testing when I get home and get back to you this evening. :)

LiquidProj3ct
Posts: 115
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 8:01 pm

Post by LiquidProj3ct » Thu Aug 06, 2009 7:33 pm

I hope this helps Sebastian, insert a MIDI Out and in the Toraverb interface do this:

Image

I'm anxious for try the toraverb demo

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Fri Aug 07, 2009 12:58 pm

Ok I've tested some other effects and I can't get them to respond either. I've tried the Midi Out but still no response. I realized I don't use Midi Learn on effects too much because it has never been reliable.

I can confirm the Reaper issue that Toraverb will respond if it's the first plugin in the chain or if there is another plugin behind it. I'll keep testing. Midi Learn isn't a feature I'll use much but I want to make sure it is well tested before release. :)

Teksonik
Posts: 61
Joined: Mon May 28, 2007 1:07 am

Post by Teksonik » Fri Aug 07, 2009 1:04 pm

Ooooops :oops: I didn't see that Toraverb has already been released. Hope it sells a million! :D

Post Reply