After Update: Songs using v1.0 sound completely different

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions
Post Reply
chillheimer
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:35 pm

After Update: Songs using v1.0 sound completely different

Post by chillheimer » Wed Jan 27, 2010 10:23 pm

Hey guys!
I'm having a serious problem here..
I just updated to v 1.2 of devastor and wanted to finish some tracks that are due next week but it seems like 1.0 and 1.2 are not really compatible, all the carefully tuned settings I made are gone and everything sounds completely different..
can you somehow fix this issue extrafast?
or if not, could you provide me with the installer of 1.0 again so i can replace the installation?

greetings, chilli

ps: the dry/wet-parameter is a huge improvement.. i used to put devastor into an aux-channel to achive the same thing.
i really love your plugs and the soundquality!

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Jan 28, 2010 10:02 am

Hi,

Old version is available to download at User Area (Add-ons tab), please download it from there.

As you go back to old 1.0.0 version could you send me that preset (saved with old version using Devastor's "save preset" option)? So we could compare it with updated version of Devastor. Please send it at support[at]d16[dot]pl

Thank you,
Sebastian

chillheimer
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:35 pm

Post by chillheimer » Fri Jan 29, 2010 11:30 am

Hi Sebastian!
thx, didn't know about the old-versions in the add-on tab.

I can't reach my mailaccount at the moment so I've uploaded the modified preset file here:
http://www.filebanker.com/breakbeatdrummix
it's a modified version of "lofi funky drumz pro"

I rechecked to give you a little more information:
When using v1.2 devastor doesn't care about the settings but always loads preset "acid scratcher", this happens on all projects using devastor.
Usually I never safe presets seperately but rely on the settings being recalled when loading the project.
If I had to choose between update-compatibility or the automation of preset switching it would definitely be the first.
Btw, I'm using Cubase 5.1, if thats of any interest.

greets, chilli

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Fri Jan 29, 2010 12:22 pm

Hi,

Load old project (made with old Devastor) and load it once again with updated Devastor. You need just to change a preset and choose the one you had previously; "lofi funky drumz pro". Everything should be ok.

It's caused because we changed completely the way of preset management. Sorry for inconvenience.

Best regards,
Sebastian

westlicht
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Feb 01, 2010 11:56 pm

Backwards compatibility

Post by westlicht » Tue Feb 02, 2010 12:01 am

Hi Sebastian

I stumbled over the backwards compatibility issue myself yesterday. I'm a big fan of your plugins and I'm using them all over the place. After the upgrade, all my songs did sound terrible :( As I'm not only working with presets, but usually tweak presets to my liking, how do I upgrade without loosing my sounds? Is the tweaked preset actually recalled if I do what you proposed to chilli? Or does it only load the factory preset?

As I guess you will do the preset management switch for all your other plugins as well, is there seriously no way you could implement backwards compatibility? I have a lot of live sets which use your plugins. As I perform with two laptops, switching songs, I will be quite tedious to upgrade one of your plugins, not to speak all of them!! So I was wondering if I can wait for the next release and be able to migrate smoothly from the old 1.x versions.

Best regards
Simon

ArguZ
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 2:24 pm

Post by ArguZ » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:25 am

Personally I think evolution is defined by eliminating flaws and focusing on new stuff.
So I would not say the new one should be 100% compatible to the old one if that limits functionality or quality.
On the other hand I can understand people are upset when their tools change drastically and the music is different then.
I would suggest a way for people to have both plugs installed at the same time , finish the old songs with the old instance and start a new project with the new version.

User avatar
Przemek@d16
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 3:10 pm

Post by Przemek@d16 » Tue Feb 02, 2010 10:57 am

Hi,

Maybe it wasn't described enough. When you recall the project created with the old Devastor (on the new one) all presets saved within the project should be restored properly (even these which have been modified by user). So the content and the sound of presets is the same.

The only thing which is not restored is the selection of the current preset. It's due to some compatibility issues and we couldn't do this another way.
But when you only select the same preset which was active when the project was saved then all should be fine.

For example, if you modified let's say 14th preset with name "XYZ" and saved it with project, then you load the project with the new Devastor this 14th presets will be restored properly (its modified sound). But this preset will not be selected (in fact first preset will be). The only thing you should have to do is to select the 14th preset and all should sounds the same like before.

I hope it's helpful and once again sorry for inconveniences - we always try to harm backward compatibility as less as possible and first of all we try to add all new features requested by our users.

Cheers,
Przemek

Post Reply