Nepheton beta version (0.9.2)

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions
quantize

Post by quantize » Wed Jun 13, 2007 9:56 am

Loving the sound of Nepheton...superb work guys

the hats, clap, cymbals and laser all sound wicked..

Alexander
Posts: 6
Joined: Sat May 12, 2007 11:33 am

Post by Alexander » Wed Jun 13, 2007 5:23 pm

Hi,

my biggest concern was that the mapping was NOT GM. I am glad it IS GM now.

Custa
Posts: 82
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 1:30 pm

Re: Still no nepheton multi channel available in logic pro 7

Post by Custa » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:42 am

Przemek@d16 wrote:
Sven Rycx wrote:I don't no why this is happening but is there someone who uses logic pro to and has fxpansion au adapter. Do you have any troubles
just to mention it, we'll start porting to AU just after release.

Cheers,
Przemek
Now that is music to my ears. One thing i have noticed is that in Live 6.0.7 on Mac OS X intel Drumazon seems to use more cpu than Nepheton. Maybe it's just the different algorithms but with less instuments I would have though Drumazon would have been at least on par cpu wise to Nepheton.
Hardware >

Apple 17" MackBook Pro Core 2 Duo 2.93Ghz - 4GB RAM - 320GB 7200 RPM Drive.

Apple Mac mini Core 2 Duo 2Ghz - 2GB RAM - 120GB 5400 RPM and 1TB 7200 RPM Drive


Software > Mac OS X 10.6.1, Logic Pro 8.0.2

Andy
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 5:22 am

Post by Andy » Fri Jun 22, 2007 9:45 pm

In the beta stage I wasn`t quite satisified with the sound of the hats and claps, but now it`s almost perfect. You couldn`t tell the difference in a song. There are some points where Nepheton is even stronger than the real thing! I have only one wish: Please give a group of four step-sequencer-buttons a seperate color, like in the beginning. It would make programming so much easier...

You guys rock!!!

User avatar
Jacek@d16
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Katowice/Poland
Contact:

Post by Jacek@d16 » Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:40 pm

Thanks for such opinion ;)
Unfortunatelly we can't change the steps to coloured like in 808, because of Roland prohibition :/

Kind regards,
Jacek
Plugins sound master

Andy
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 5:22 am

Post by Andy » Fri Jun 22, 2007 11:58 pm

Jacek@d16 wrote:Thanks for such opinion ;)
Unfortunatelly we can't change the steps to coloured like in 808, because of Roland prohibition :/

Kind regards,
Jacek
Yeah, I knew that was the reason, but can`t you just take different colors or at least just another block of white buttons like the last four?

...just like this:

xxxx oooo xxxx oooo
black white black white

Is that possible? I am sure just this little change would make everybodys life easier!

CosmicD
Posts: 155
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 8:40 pm

Post by CosmicD » Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:10 am

or if coloring isn't an option.. why not mark the first button of 4 with some beveled dots ? (like you have on a keyboard with the F and the J key :)
Last edited by CosmicD on Sat Jun 23, 2007 1:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
http://www.cosmicdreamer.be

User avatar
Jacek@d16
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Katowice/Poland
Contact:

Post by Jacek@d16 » Sat Jun 23, 2007 9:46 am

Andy wrote:
Yeah, I knew that was the reason, but can`t you just take different colors or at least just another block of white buttons like the last four?

...just like this:

xxxx oooo xxxx oooo
black white black white

Is that possible? I am sure just this little change would make everybodys life easier!
hmmm i think it's possible :)
but the white keys correspond to Intro/Fillin parts therefore they are white - same as I/F variation background
Plugins sound master

Andy
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 5:22 am

Post by Andy » Sat Jun 23, 2007 1:00 pm

Jacek@d16 wrote:
Andy wrote:
Yeah, I knew that was the reason, but can`t you just take different colors or at least just another block of white buttons like the last four?

...just like this:

xxxx oooo xxxx oooo
black white black white

Is that possible? I am sure just this little change would make everybodys life easier!
hmmm i think it's possible :)
but the white keys correspond to Intro/Fillin parts therefore they are white - same as I/F variation background
Yep, the concept would be a little confusing for first time users, but anybody else wouldn`t care :wink: ... I know, the white buttons are not the best solution, but is there another way to solve this? The dots aren`t a bad idea either...

intrepidtraveller
Posts: 77
Joined: Sun Nov 19, 2006 4:58 am

Post by intrepidtraveller » Wed Jun 27, 2007 10:31 pm

is it really that hard to divide sixteen by four?

Andy
Posts: 37
Joined: Tue May 15, 2007 5:22 am

Post by Andy » Thu Jun 28, 2007 9:00 pm

intrepidtraveller wrote:is it really that hard to divide sixteen by four?
funny guy :roll:

Edit: It really makes it much easier and has nothing to do with math. I don`t want to count when being creative...

User avatar
Jacek@d16
Posts: 339
Joined: Fri Mar 03, 2006 11:34 am
Location: Katowice/Poland
Contact:

Post by Jacek@d16 » Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:11 pm

The truth is that four-step division is only good when You use a scale with 4 steps per beat...
Plugins sound master

Acidhead
Posts: 74
Joined: Wed Jan 24, 2007 12:13 am

Post by Acidhead » Thu Jun 28, 2007 10:44 pm

Why not simply leave this to users themselves, when adding the option to use skinning?

User avatar
Przemek@d16
Posts: 550
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 3:10 pm

Post by Przemek@d16 » Fri Jun 29, 2007 1:46 pm

Yes, skinning will be also added :)

Cheers,
Przemek

Locked