An audio track with nepheton

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions
Post Reply
goron
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:10 pm

An audio track with nepheton

Post by goron » Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:14 pm

I'm having troubles with nepheton: I have programmed my pattern and I'd like to record in cubase a simple audio track. What should I do?

goron
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:10 pm

Post by goron » Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:36 am

The strange thing is that no midi message is recorded in "internal seq mode".

I also tried to record the single hits in host mode, by pressing a master's key, so that midi messages are recorded, but when i try to record an audio track, it does not work.

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Wed Oct 22, 2008 12:30 pm

Hi,

I believe You use default settings for Nepheton, unfortunately I encoutered too a problem during mixdown of song using int seq mode (not host mode), Cubase ignores transport change during mixdown, it basically doesn't send it to plugin.

Please check out this section in manual:
http://www.d16.pl/index.php?menu=170

Especially paragraph about "syncing with the host"

Best regards,
Sebastian

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Wed Oct 22, 2008 2:10 pm

Hmmm, after second thought I'm bit confused, do You mean recording audio live?

goron
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:10 pm

Post by goron » Wed Oct 22, 2008 3:04 pm

Thanks for the answer, this evening I'll try something.

I would like to:
-Record a midi track and see the bars near the piano roll (as any other vsti does), in order to synchronize my reconrdings with the drum track.
-Then record exactly what the nepheton is playing by using its "internal seq" mode (which is the simplest way, I think).

I tried with the "host mode", but I have to re-program my drum pattern and it's not as fast and "clean" as "internal seq" mode.

goron
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:10 pm

Post by goron » Wed Oct 22, 2008 11:01 pm

I'm still having problems, be patient, I'm a beginner. The cubase is the LE version, so that I don't know if it does exist any kind of limitation.

This is what happens when I try to record a midi track (with "int seq" and "int sync" leds turned on):
http://www.fileqube.com/file/irfGocTh137468
No midi message is recorded by cubase while I'm listening to the drum pattern.

The second problem is that I usually record an audio track by:
1 recording a midi track first;
2 setting the midi track in solo with an audio track,
3 then selecting the audio track and click on record.

Without having a midi track I don't know how to do.

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:49 am

goron wrote:I'm still having problems, be patient, I'm a beginner. The cubase is the LE version, so that I don't know if it does exist any kind of limitation.

This is what happens when I try to record a midi track (with "int seq" and "int sync" leds turned on):
http://www.fileqube.com/file/irfGocTh137468
No midi message is recorded by cubase while I'm listening to the drum pattern.

The second problem is that I usually record an audio track by:
1 recording a midi track first;
2 setting the midi track in solo with an audio track,
3 then selecting the audio track and click on record.

Without having a midi track I don't know how to do.
Hi,

If You want to see notes on a piano roll You have to use external mode (turn the int.seq off) and put the notes on a piano roll manually on drum track or midi track clip - Nepheton acts in this mode as a regular sound module, which only plays sounds triggered by a midi note. At the moment there's no way to transfer the notes from the internal sequencer of Nepheton to external midi clip. We're going to add such a feature within a Nepheton's update, where You'll be able to simply drag a sequencer from Nepheton to midi track - as it takes a place in Stylus RMX or FxPansion Guru. Second method is having midi out within plug-in, which is also not doable with this version of Nepheton.

Concerning Your second problem, recording vsti output as an audio track in Cubase realtime, I'm not sure if it's possible at all, I've been using Cubase quite time and haven't encountered such a feature. I know it's possible to do with Fruity Loops to record single mixer channel stripe to wave in realtime.

EDIT: I can advise You to make a solo on a Nepheton's midi track, or from the mixer on a track You'd like to record to audio (single np's instrument(s)) and make mixdown.

Best regards,
Sebastian

goron
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Oct 21, 2008 10:10 pm

Post by goron » Thu Oct 23, 2008 9:55 am

Ok, I think it's an important feature which could make this vsti the perfect one for me, so that I'll keep my nepheton updated.

Thank you very much for your explanations!

BLooD
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:13 am

Post by BLooD » Tue Jul 07, 2009 3:05 pm

I am having a problem figuring out how to either 'freeze' or record audio from Nepheton. I'm using Sonar 8, and the Native Instruments Session IO (as soundcard with asio driver). I'm not new to this and am starting to think it can't be done using Nepheton, hope that isn't true...! Is there some way to get audio to record from Nepheton? Or, is this being done with other progs like Cubase or whatever? Anybody getting Nepheton to Freeze in Sonar? I have even gotten a Seq pattern from Nepheton onto a track in Sonar and then to trigger Battery, and THAT Freezes quick and easy... Help! (thanks).

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Wed Jul 08, 2009 11:35 am

Hi,

You have to have something on midi track (some notes) to be able to freeze plug-in. Use Host mode in Nepheton, trigger patterns using midi notes and then use "snow flake" icon to freeze plug-in.

Best regards,
Sebastian

BLooD
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 7:13 am

Post by BLooD » Sat Jul 11, 2009 12:51 am

Thanks Sebastian, I got it working now. Cool.

User avatar
kevaquarian
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 3:35 pm

Re: An audio track with nepheton

Post by kevaquarian » Mon Dec 26, 2011 7:56 pm

No drag and drop MIDI sequence direct from Nepheton (and the other boxes) is most likely a deal-breaker for me!! I love Stylus RMX particularly due to theis feature - it's the way forward for workflow! Any idea when we might see this implemented in D16s drum machines? I was just about to buy after checking the demo, but this is changing my mind sadly.

Ta.

:)
Mac Pro 8-core 2.8GHz 14GB RAM
Logic 9.1.3 64-bit mode
Spectrasonics/NI Komplete/BFD2/IK/PLAY/Softube/Altiverb etc
RME Fireface 400
Focusrite Octopre
http://my.music-jobs.com/kevin.edge

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: An audio track with nepheton

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Tue Dec 27, 2011 11:12 am

Hi,

I'm sorry, we do not plan this feature for any of 1.x updates, but for 2.x upgrade.

If you'd used VST instead of AU (Logic), you would have made a way around by recording plug-in's midi output on a midi track and this way transferring patterns from internal Nepheton's memory onto track. Unfortunately
AU technology does not allow plug-in to have midi output.

Also you can use host mode to create rhythm arrangement without necessity of transferring patterns onto midi track at all, just triggering patterns using midi notes.

Best regards,
Sebastian

User avatar
kevaquarian
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 3:35 pm

Re: An audio track with nepheton

Post by kevaquarian » Tue Dec 27, 2011 5:50 pm

OK - thanks Sebastian.

I'll wait for the 2.x upgrades to happen then, and then look at buying the machines.

Cheers,

Kev
Mac Pro 8-core 2.8GHz 14GB RAM
Logic 9.1.3 64-bit mode
Spectrasonics/NI Komplete/BFD2/IK/PLAY/Softube/Altiverb etc
RME Fireface 400
Focusrite Octopre
http://my.music-jobs.com/kevin.edge

Post Reply