Nephton with Ableton 6.10

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions
Post Reply
grumblenoise
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:00 pm

Nephton with Ableton 6.10

Post by grumblenoise » Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:06 pm

Hi Guys,

Nephton is very nice! Good job. One thing which puzzles me though - if I'm controlling it from Ableton, the kick drum is on C1 but as I move up the keyboard some of the samples from Nephton don't play? Why are they not all mapped? I've searched the manual but nothing I can see relates to this.

Thanks. :D

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:17 pm

Hey,

The number of Nepheton's instruments is 17 and number of midi notes is much higher. Why should they all be mapped?. If the default mapping isn't suitable for You, there's way to change it manually. All You need is to re-edit the Nepheton.ini file to change the mapping in a manner You want.

It's the part of this file responsible for that:

Code: Select all

  <DrumMap>
    <assign note="35" instrument="BD"/>
    <assign note="36" instrument="BD"/>
    <assign note="38" instrument="SD"/>
    <assign note="40" instrument="SD"/>
    <assign note="61" instrument="LC"/>
    ...
<assign note="[note_number]" instrument="[instrument_acronym]"/>

best regards,
Sebastian

grumblenoise
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:00 pm

Post by grumblenoise » Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:30 pm

Ok, I found the file. It makes a bit of sense now (just a bit) so just a question. c1 = 35 right? So why do the number not just go 36,36,37? Or do they not represent the notes in this way?

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:42 pm

Yes, 35 = C1. Those numbers correspond to the midi notes.

We wanted to make the mapping as close as possible to General Midi Drum Map. But not all instruments are mapped in this way, since some of the instruments don't exsist in GM.

Regards,
Sebastian

grumblenoise
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed May 09, 2007 10:00 pm

Post by grumblenoise » Thu Jan 03, 2008 8:57 pm

Ah ok, I'm with you. Well thanks for replying this evening.

All the best for 2008 to the d16 team :)

User avatar
Sebastian@d16
Posts: 1524
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Post by Sebastian@d16 » Thu Jan 03, 2008 9:23 pm

Same to You :), best wishes for this new year :D

frederic heim
Posts: 14
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2007 3:51 pm
Contact:

Post by frederic heim » Mon Jan 28, 2008 10:46 pm

Hello ! I have changing the notes assignation for having all sound with my 25 note keyboard m-audio oxygen8v2:

<DrumMap>
<assign note="48" instrument="BD"/>
<assign note="50" instrument="SD"/>
<assign note="52" instrument="LC"/>
<assign note="53" instrument="MC"/>
<assign note="55" instrument="HC"/>
<assign note="57" instrument="LT"/>
<assign note="59" instrument="MT"/>
<assign note="60" instrument="HT"/>
<assign note="62" instrument="CL"/>
<assign note="64" instrument="RS"/>
<assign note="65" instrument="MA"/>
<assign note="67" instrument="CP"/>
<assign note="69" instrument="CB"/>
<assign note="71" instrument="LG"/>
<assign note="72" instrument="CY"/>
<assign note="49" instrument="OH"/>
<assign note="51" instrument="CH"/>
</DrumMap>


Sorry for my english :oops:

Post Reply