Corrupt Pro Tools 12 Sessions, Mac, Yosemite 10.10.5

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions

Corrupt Pro Tools 12 Sessions, Mac, Yosemite 10.10.5

Postby djorphan » Thu Oct 27, 2016 1:36 am

I wanted to ask if any one else has experienced it or the team at D16 have come across this yet, but I bought Decimort2 & Devastor2 earlier this year in AAX format. I can use them free & easily in my Pro Tools 12.5 & 12.6 sessions.

The issue arises when I go to work on those sessions again at another time. I generally use Decimort2 on my Drums & Drum buses. My drums are always located at the top of the edit window or in the mix window to the far left
of my mix. When I load a mix up, everything loads as you would expect & if i switch to the Mix window I can scroll freely left & right thru my faders.

When I'm in the Edit window, the minute I try to scroll to the top to where my drums are situated I get a spinning wheel & my session crashes. It has taken me a while to work out what the issue was but I have narrowed it down to
Decimort2 & Devastor2.

When I rebuild my protools sessions, importing all tracks to a new session It works fine for that instance but after shutting down & reopening the same thing occurs. Fo a while i thought it was 12.5 messing with me because i bought both plugins
at the same time as buying Pro Tools 12 Native HD. I thought it was corrupt audio files at first which I have had a similar experience with in PT10.

I have completely stop using Decimort2 & Devastor2 & noo longer am having the issue. Its just a shame because I love the way these plugins work & sound. Decimort2 makes drums knock & i love it..!!

Im just saddened that I can no longer use either of them because I cannot risk mixing a record only to have to rebuild a session & take them off the channels & try an achieve the sound I once had.

My system is:

Mac Pro (mid 2010)
2x2.4 GHz Quad Core Intel Xeon
24 GB 1066 MHz DDR3 ECC memory
ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024 MB Graphics
OSX Yosemite 10.10.5

Running Pro Tools HD native 12.6 (but was the same for Pro Tools 12.5)

All my plugins are 100% legit purchases

I appreciate any help on this matter & thanks in advance.
LUKE BERRYMAN
Senior Engineer & Producer @ BigPop Studios
Auckland, New Zealand
BIGPOPSTUDIOS.COM

http://www.djshadow.com/news/3-shadow-m ... -your-mind
https://soundcloud.com/djorphan
https://www.facebook.com/DJORPHAN
http://djorphan.com
djorphan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:21 am

Re: Corrupt Pro Tools 12 Sessions, Mac, Yosemite 10.10.5

Postby Sebastian@d16 » Thu Oct 27, 2016 11:02 am

Hi,

Thank you for reporting this problem. It's a known issue to us manifesting in a bunch of different ways to users of latest Pro Tools versions. The source of this problem seems to be related to programming framework we use, which is developed by third party company. The framework provides us whole variety of basic functions to our software to run seemlesly on different platforms (Mac OS X and Windows) without taking care of compatibility with particular one. Among the others the framework provides also methodology for wrapping our code up as AAX, VST or AU plug-ins. As any piece of software the framework is also continuously developed by the company who wrote it and they catching up with all new technologies and specifications that appear. It turned out the framework version we used in Antresol, Decimort 2 and Devastor 2 has some problems with handling AAX plug-ins in the Pro Tools 12.x properly. Seems the newer version we used in Frontier and now in upcoming Repeater deals with AAX in the latest editions of Pro Tools without problems. After releasing Repeater we're going to do some maintenance to our older products and release updated versions of mentioned SilverLine plug-ins to make this issue with Pro Tools gone. However it'll take a while since our team is focused on Repeater right now, but it the problem will be fixed, promise. For now I can offer you two options; waiting a bit for the update or full refund for purchased licenses (if bought in our online shop). If you choose option two you may contact us via Helpdesk.d16.pl with requesting the refund and we'll gladly do it for you.

Kind regards,
Sebastian
User avatar
Sebastian@d16
 
Posts: 1499
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: Corrupt Pro Tools 12 Sessions, Mac, Yosemite 10.10.5

Postby djorphan » Thu Oct 27, 2016 8:25 pm

Hi Sebastian@d16

Thank you for your reply, I feel better knowing that im not going mad as I could never find anything online about it so thought it may have only been me hence why I finally thought better to
sign up to your forum & ask.

I will happily wait for them to be worked on so no need for a refund. All your products are phenomenal & I would rather know that I have two great pieces of gear to unleash on my mixes
once they have been re issued.

Thanks again for your time taken to reply its put my mind at ease.

Regards

Luke B
LUKE BERRYMAN
Senior Engineer & Producer @ BigPop Studios
Auckland, New Zealand
BIGPOPSTUDIOS.COM

http://www.djshadow.com/news/3-shadow-m ... -your-mind
https://soundcloud.com/djorphan
https://www.facebook.com/DJORPHAN
http://djorphan.com
djorphan
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 26, 2016 12:21 am


Return to DECIMORT 2

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest