Buffer Size Question (In The Options)

Share your experience, tips & tricks, show off your music. Wishes, ideas and feature suggestions

Buffer Size Question (In The Options)

Postby JC777 » Sat Nov 26, 2016 10:20 am

Hello,

I see the default buffer size is 3 in the options, what happens if I make it larger?

My computer is not the best so I already put the offline quality on low, would increasing the buffer help for running multiple instances of Sigmund?

Is the delay added because of the buffer going to be audible once rendered?

I plan on using Sigmund on Toms, Rimshots, Claps, etc.

Thanks alot :)
JC777
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:23 pm

Re: Buffer Size Question (In The Options)

Postby Sebastian@d16 » Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:19 pm

Hi,

Buffer size defines maximum delay time the plug-in can operate with (expressed in seconds). It's the size of memory buffers for delay loop. The buffer size affects only the memory usage per instance. It doesn't affect the CPU consumption at all nor the plug-in's latency.

Hope it helps.

Kind regards,
Seabstian
User avatar
Sebastian@d16
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: Buffer Size Question (In The Options)

Postby JC777 » Tue Nov 29, 2016 12:45 pm

Ok thanks alot :)

So you mean if I increase the buffer to 6 I can get a 6 seconds delay time? I'm kinda confused..

Getting the settings to low helped alot for CPU anyhow :)
JC777
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:23 pm

Re: Buffer Size Question (In The Options)

Postby Sebastian@d16 » Wed Nov 30, 2016 11:48 am

Hi,

So you mean if I increase the buffer to 6 I can get a 6 seconds delay time


Exactly!

It doesn't affect the CPU consumption at all nor the plug-in's latency.


It's very risky to set the buffer to low values. The CPU consumption decrease could be related to some memory segmentation only and probably isn't deterministic, namely it can be the case for one particular project only when in the other with same Sigmund settings couldn't.

Kind regards,
Sebastian
User avatar
Sebastian@d16
 
Posts: 1502
Joined: Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: Katowice/Poland

Re: Buffer Size Question (In The Options)

Postby JC777 » Mon Dec 05, 2016 11:12 pm

Thanks for the answers :)
JC777
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Tue Nov 15, 2016 1:23 pm


Return to SIGMUND

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest